Sweepstakes casinos · Comparison

Modo.us vs High 5 Casino

Modo.us and High 5 Casino compared on official rules: redemption minimums, mail-in entry, playthrough, restricted states, identity checks and legal history.

Key takeaways

  • Modo.us wins on rules recency, redemption minimums and eligibility: rules updated October 1, 2026, a 20 SC gift-card minimum and 17 restricted states.
  • High 5 Casino wins on coin-value clarity and game library: its rules state 1 SC = $1 in prizes, and it carries many in-house High 5 Games titles.
  • Both give 3 SC per mail-in request and require 21+ for sweepstakes play.
  • High 5 Games lost a Washington jury verdict of about $25 million in 2025 (secondary report); we found no enforcement action naming Modo's operator.

The verdict: Modo.us is the stronger choice on paper. Its rules are newer, its redemption thresholds are lower and it is available in more states. High 5 Casino is the better fit if you care most about its in-house slot library, or you want a rulebook that fixes the coin value outright. Both rank on our best sweepstakes casinos list: Modo first, High 5 fourth.

  1. Offer
    Sign-up bonus: 20,000 GC + 1 SC, no purchase neededReported, not yet confirmed on operator site
    Free entry
    3 SC per handwritten mail-in request
    Min. redemption
    20 SC (gift card) / 50 SC (cash)
    Playthrough
    At least 1x; the rules allow up to 30x
    Excluded states
    AZ, CA, CT, DE, ID, IN, LA, ME, MI, MT, NV, NJ, NY, OK, TN, WA, WV
  2. Offer
    Welcome deal: 200 spins on Billionaire's Bank for $9.99 (purchase)Confirmed on operator site
    Free entry
    3 SC per mail-in request
    Min. redemption
    100 SC (cash) / 50 SC (non-cash prizes)
    Playthrough
    At least 1x; more at the operator's discretion
    Excluded states
    AZ, CA, CT, DE, ID, IN, IA, KY, LA, ME, MD, MI, MT, NV, NJ, NY, PA, RI, TN, WA, WV

Data from each operator's official terms and regulatory filings, and labelled offer reports. Oldest check here: October 4, 2026. Offers and availability change often, so confirm on the operator's site before you sign up.

Side by side

Factor Modo.us High 5 Casino Edge
Operator ARB Gaming, LLC (Scottsdale, AZ) High 5 Entertainment, LLC (Mahwah, NJ) —
Rules updated October 1, 2026 June 26, 2026 (v43.0) Modo
Minimum redemption 20 SC gift card / 50 SC cash 50 SC non-cash / 100 SC cash Modo
Mail-in free entry 3 SC per request 3 SC per request Tie
Playthrough At least 1x; up to 30x allowed At least 1x; more at discretion Tie
Coin value stated Not stated in what we read 1 SC = $1 in prizes High 5
Sweepstakes age 21+ 21+ Tie
Restricted states 17 21 Modo
Games Catalogue not counted Many in-house High 5 Games titles High 5
Welcome offer 20,000 GC + 1 SC free on sign-up (reported, not confirmed on Modo’s site) 200 spins for $9.99, a purchase (on High 5’s site); 400 GC + 3 SC + 300 Diamonds free (reported) None declared

Factor 1: Rules and transparency

Edge: Modo.

Modo’s Official Rules and Terms of Use were both updated October 1, 2026, the most recent of any operator we reviewed. They go into unusual detail: processing times, identity checks, tax reporting and Florida limits are all written down. High 5’s Sweepstakes Official Rules (v43.0, June 26, 2026) are also public and versioned, and they state plainly that Sweeps Coins “cannot be purchased under any circumstances”.

Factor 2: Redemption minimums

Edge: Modo.

Modo lets you redeem for a gift card from 20 SC and for cash from 50 SC. High 5 requires 50 SC for non-cash prizes and 100 SC for cash, double Modo’s cash threshold. For a player relying on free entry at 3 SC per request, the 50 SC gap between the two cash minimums is about 17 extra mail-in requests.

Factor 3: Free entry

Edge: tie.

Both pay 3 SC per mail-in request, sent in a #10 envelope with a site-generated code: a 12-digit Envelope Request Code at Modo, a Mail-In Code at High 5. Both are below the 5 SC that Zula and Sportzino give. High 5 also runs a “Daily Harvest” of free Sweeps Coins, per its help center; we have not verified the amount, or a comparable daily bonus at Modo. See our free Sweeps Coins guide.

Factor 4: Playthrough and coin value

Edge: split.

Both set a 1x minimum playthrough and reserve the right to require more. Modo’s rules put a ceiling on it, up to 30x; High 5’s leave it to the operator’s discretion without a stated maximum. High 5 is clearer on value: its rules say one Sweeps Coin is redeemable for $1 in prizes.

Factor 5: Where you can play

Edge: Modo.

Modo restricts 17 states and High 5 restricts 21. The lists overlap on 16 states. The differences:

  • Restricted by High 5 only: Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Pennsylvania and Rhode Island.
  • Restricted by Modo only: Oklahoma, whose ban takes effect November 1, 2026. Modo already lists it; High 5’s v43.0 rules do not.

High 5 also runs a Gold-Coin-only “Classic” mode, restricted only in Connecticut, Louisiana, Michigan and Washington. That mode has no prizes. Check the state legal tracker for the law where you live.

Factor 6: Redemption process and identity checks

Edge: none declared. Modo documents more, which is not the same as being slower.

Modo’s rules are candid about friction: one redemption request per day, up to 30 days to process, possible handling fees, an SSN once redemptions exceed $600, and identity checks that can include a biometric face scan. Florida redemptions are capped at $5,000 per entry period, and Modo may refund purchases instead of paying a prize in some cases. High 5’s processing times and identity-check requirements are not recorded in our research, so a lighter-looking process may simply be a less documented one.

Edge: Modo.

In February 2025 a federal jury in Washington returned a verdict of about $25 million against High 5 Games under Washington law (secondary report), and High 5 Entertainment is named in Baltimore’s March 2026 consumer-protection suit. In our research we found no state enforcement action naming ARB Gaming. Its parent, ARB Interactive, is a member of the Social Gaming Leadership Alliance, an industry group lobbying states to regulate rather than ban the model.

Factor 8: Welcome offers

Edge: none declared. The two offers are different kinds of deal, and neither free amount is confirmed on the operator’s own site.

Modo’s sign-up offer is 20,000 GC + 1 SC with no purchase, reported by Covers and Sportsbook Review but not yet confirmed on Modo’s own site. The same sources report a $0.99 first purchase for 17,500 GC + 5 SC + 550 VIP points.

High 5’s own sign-up bonus page showed 200 spins on Billionaire’s Bank for $9.99 on October 4, 2026. That is a paid package, not a free bonus. Covers and Sportsbook Review also report a free sign-up bonus of 400 GC + 3 SC + 300 Diamonds, which High 5’s page does not state.

On the reported free amounts, High 5’s 3 SC is more than Modo’s 1 SC, but both are small next to the minimum redemptions above. Neither offer needs a promo code according to the sources we checked, and we do not publish codes owned by other sites.

Choose Modo if…

  • You want the lowest verified redemption threshold.
  • You live in Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Pennsylvania or Rhode Island.
  • You value detailed, recently updated rules and accept heavier identity checks.

Choose High 5 if…

  • You want High 5 Games’ in-house slots.
  • You prefer a rule that fixes 1 SC at $1 in prizes.
  • You are comfortable with a 100 SC cash minimum.

Welcome offers played no part in the verdict. They were checked on October 4, 2026, and can change or vary by state.

See how both compare with eight other operators.

Frequently asked questions

Is Modo or High 5 Casino better?
On the documentary criteria we use, Modo.us ranks first and High 5 Casino fourth as of October 4, 2026. Modo has more recent rules, lower minimums and fewer excluded states. High 5 is the better fit if you want its in-house slot library and a rule that fixes 1 SC at $1.
What is the minimum redemption at Modo and High 5?
Modo: 20 SC for a gift card and 50 SC for cash. High 5: 50 SC for non-cash prizes and 100 SC for cash. Both figures come from the operators' official rules, checked October 4, 2026.
Which states can play at Modo but not High 5?
Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Pennsylvania and Rhode Island are on High 5's restricted list but not Modo's. Oklahoma is the reverse: Modo already restricts it ahead of the state's November 1, 2026 ban; High 5 does not yet.
How do I get free Sweeps Coins at Modo or High 5?
Both offer mail-in entry worth 3 SC per handwritten request in a #10 envelope, with a site-generated code. Our free Sweeps Coins guide explains the process.
How do the Modo and High 5 welcome offers compare?
They are different kinds of deal. Modo's is a free 20,000 GC + 1 SC on sign-up, reported by Covers and Sportsbook Review and not yet confirmed on Modo's own site. High 5's own site showed a paid package, 200 spins on Billionaire's Bank for $9.99, on October 4, 2026; the same comparison sites report a free 400 GC + 3 SC + 300 Diamonds that High 5's page does not state. Neither needs a promo code according to the sources we checked.
Comparison

Chumba Casino Alternatives

Five sweepstakes casinos like Chumba, with honest fit notes, why players are looking elsewhere, and which states have no compliant alternative at all.

Hub

Sweepstakes casino reviews

Documentary reviews of US sweepstakes casinos built from official rules, terms and enforcement records, plus a data table covering ten operators.